No, I am not an American white girl as the little circular icon that sits on the left of any comments I make has doubtlessly led some of you to think.

Getting up after that loaded statement; I’d like to think that despite that ^, you’re likely to get a lot better of a feel for me if you look at the icon and that it has nothing to do with what is actually in the image.

Yes, I own a pair of glasses but I have nothing else visually in common with my avatar and yet I identify with this ambiguously white/asian chibi-esque girl that will make whoever connects this blog to the real me take a step back and wonder at the strangeness that is a darker-skinned otaku.

I say this because I, myself (me), have been under the impression that I am an anomaly which is absurd because (and I’ll elaborate on this a bit later) anime – in my sense of the word – is not an ageist, sexist, racist etc. media so I’m not exactly having my identity oppressed (I don’t know, maybe it’s because I’m South African) just because there are no literal representations of my face that I can attach myself to in the anime that I’m in love with.

This blog’s grand opening untied a bag of misconceptions, if you’ll remember (those who don’t/are reading this post first should go back to the days when I was witty and made references to people that are funnier than I am). In that bag is not just the ‘anime is for kids’ or ‘it’s a guy thing’ misunderstanding but the third of the walls that anime breaks down: ‘it’s a white people thing’.

Let me ‘bruh-bruh-break’ this down for you.

I can tell you that the misconception goes deeper. ‘It’s an American white people thing’ would be the full and incorrect terminology because it’s not true but it feels true. And, though I’ve said that I don’t feel anime is a platform that excludes people, you have to look pretty carefully to find any characters of colour in the medium. This isolates those people of colour (initially).

This is definitely not anime’s fault and the Japanese are dealing with their own social conflicts but all girls of colour know how difficult it is to cosplay…

Can you see me in any of these women?

No?

That would be because the black woman’s character, in the majority of their representation, is a feisty, strong and fearless pillar of strength.

I, for one, would be ashamed to play half of these characters on account of the sheer size of their breasts.

Leave a Reply

